Cheater’s Apple Pie

I was traumatized from an entirely-from-scratch apple pie experience in college. I vowed that would be my first and last time I cored-and-peeled away two hours of my life in the name of pie.

Several years later, my friend Susan suggested we make an apple pie for dinner. It was late in the afternoon and I’d lobbied to do a little crafting – something fun, simple and quick. I thought she was overly ambitious, but, trying to be a good guest, I said, “Okay.”

The next thing I know, we’re home from the apple stand with some fine looking Jonathons and Susan pulls out…the apple corer!! What?! Surely, made by the angels. Then she introduced me to ready-made dough. I went crazy!! In about 20 minutes, sinews of baking cinnamon apple pie laced the air. Epiphany! Now, I am known for my “signature” apple pie prowess.

About Procurrent

Good things are happening around us all the time. I try to capture some of the good people and good things at procurrent.wordpress.com. And I pass along tips and observations from visits to Trader Joe's at ThingsILoveAtTraderJoes.com. I love hearing from visitors. Looking forward to your comments!
This entry was posted in cooking, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

