At the ballet

I’d been to the ballet. I grew up going to the Nutcracker Suite ballet during the Christmas season. Then there were several modern ballet performances which helped me understand my taste – reaching back to childhood, girls in tutus, toe shoes and flowing ribbons. That’s the ballet I wanted.

And last night, that’s the ballet I got: George Balanchine’s “Serenade,” which reminded me of Escher in motion with about 15 ballerinas in flowing white, straight tutus, a carousel of recombining shapes, fluid and complex. I was transfixed.

My friend B and I stayed for a few more segments in the show, fine pieces, but in our eyes, they paled. We left early for a cappuccino and tiramiso nightcap at Lidia’s before getting B home to relieve the babysitter.

The following description calls this ballet “…a masterwork of geometrical poetry.” Read more about this performance of Serenade

The Muriel Kauffman Theatre at the Kauffman Center for the Performing Arts

The Muriel Kauffman Theatre

About Procurrent

Good things are happening around us all the time. I try to capture some of the good people and good things at procurrent.wordpress.com. And I pass along tips and observations from visits to Trader Joe's at ThingsILoveAtTraderJoes.com. I love hearing from visitors. Looking forward to your comments!
This entry was posted in art, kansas city, music, Photography and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

