Weekly Photo Challenge: Wrong

This is one challenge I’m not sweating. The first thing I think of that’s currently wrong is the incredibly long stretch of over-100 temperatures that much of the U.S. has been experiencing.

A couple of weeks ago, I got in my car and the temperature reading was 108 Farenheit! By the time I was able to stop and take this picture, I lost one degree of proof.

However, I was in Los Angeles last week moaning about the mid-country heat when a friend said that 107 was nothing. He’d recently gotten in his car in the San Fernando Valley and the temperature read 130! I’m surprised his tires hadn’t melted. Surely, he did, and I would have.

It seems like the Midwest often reaches 100 in the summer, sometimes lasting a few days, even one week. But this year’s crop of heat has broken records and seems relentless.

Temps. more than 100 for months at a time – that’s just wrong.

Related links:
Heat Wave: Midwest plain ‘out of whack’ as records shatter

Thousands of fish die in hot weather

What’s behind the U.S. Heat Wave? [With map]

Click here to join the Weekly Photo Challenge.

About Procurrent

Good things are happening around us all the time. I try to capture some of the good people and good things at procurrent.wordpress.com. And I pass along tips and observations from visits to Trader Joe's at ThingsILoveAtTraderJoes.com. I love hearing from visitors. Looking forward to your comments!
This entry was posted in Photography, Photos of the week, Weekly Challenge and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Weekly Photo Challenge: Wrong

  1. Angelia Sims says:

    So wrong! Seems to be our normal summer here in North Central Texas, except last summer we almost broke the record of MOST over 100-degree days in a row. That was god-awful. Luckily, this year, we have had quite a few days at 99. Wooo! Cool front. LOL.

    • procurrent says:

      I know, right?! I think Kansas City may have broken its record for longest stretch of over-100 degree days this year. And, yes, we’re unbelievably thankful when it gets down to 99, 98! Incredible…incredibly wrong! : )

  2. Northern Narratives says:

    That’s way too hot for me 🙂

Leave a Reply

