All good things…

A good thing is happening. I’m opening the next chapter of my life. One big part of that is cleaning and clearing out items from my past and my family’s past.

I’m saying goodbye to childhood dress-up shoes and books I loved but won’t read again, to stuffed frogs and coin-filled paperweights and other sentimental artifacts that helped define me or my brother or my parents or their parents, but sit just gathering dust and deteriorating.

So instead of the harsh and final “buh-bye” that this process could be, I’m changing it to a fond farewell by documenting those things on this blog, an archive in photos and memories.

I’ll try to keep them brief and hope you enjoy seeing them. If you had the same items, or if something brings back a memory, I’d love to hear your thoughts and reflections!

I’ll begin with the first item on the give-away pile today: The best dress-up shoes I ever had:

DressUpShoes

As most little girl dress-up shoes, these were a pair of my mom’s discards. They were from Harzfeld’s department store in Kansas City, Mo. A pretty chic shop that my mother frequented when she was looking for a special outfit or party dress.

I felt so grown up in these velvet rose-pommed shoes. Like a movie star or a princess. Beautiful. Special.

About Procurrent

Good things are happening around us all the time. I try to capture some of the good people and good things at procurrent.wordpress.com. And I pass along tips and observations from visits to Trader Joe's at ThingsILoveAtTraderJoes.com. I love hearing from visitors. Looking forward to your comments!
This entry was posted in Archive, family, Photography and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

